CITY OF OWOSSO SPECIAL MEETING OF THE CITY COUNCIL MINUTES OF AUGUST 5, 2021 5:00 P.M.

PRESIDING OFFICER: MAYOR CHRISTOPHER T. EVELETH

PRESENT: Mayor Christopher T. Eveleth, Mayor Pro-Tem Susan J. Osika,

Councilpersons Janae L. Fear, Jerome C. Haber, Daniel A. Law,

Nicholas L. Pidek, and Robert J. Teich, Jr.

ABSENT: None.

ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION

Strategic Planning

Council and Department Managers participated in a guided discussion, facilitated by Patrice Martin, regarding strategic planning. This is the first of three meetings the Council will hold to develop a strategic plan. The purpose of this evening's meeting is to clarify outcomes, explore the Master Plan, and evaluate roles and processes; the intent of which is to ensure that Council and staff are clear on the goals and everyone is pulling in the same direction.

CITIZEN COMMENTS AND QUESTIONS

There were no citizen comments.

Councilmember Fear thanked everyone for coming to the meeting saying their presence was noticed and appreciated.

Mayor Pro-Tem Osika thanked Councilmembers Fear and Pidek for insisting on this process moving forward.

Mayor Eveleth thanked everyone for their time and remarked that he had enjoyed the less formal nature of the meeting.

NEXT MEETING

Monday, August 16, 2021

BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS OPENINGS

Brownfield Redevelopment Authority – term expires June 30, 2022 Building Board of Appeals – Alternate - term expires June 30, 2022 Building Board of Appeals – Alternate - term expires June 30, 2024 Owosso Historical Commission – 2 terms expire December 31, 2021 Owosso Historical Commission – term expires December 31, 2022 Owosso Historical Commission – term expires December 31, 2023 Parks & Recreation Commission-term expires June 30, 2022 Parks & Recreation Commission-term expires June 30, 2023 Zoning Board of Appeals – Alternate – term expires June 30, 2024 Zoning Board of Appeals – term expires June 30, 2023

ADJOURNMENT

Motion by Councilmember Fear for adjournment at 6:51 p.m.

Motion supported by Mayor Pro-Tem Osika and concurred in by unanimous vote.

Christopher T. Eveleth, Mayor	
Amy K. Kirkland, City Clerk	